Divine Weather

propagating grassToday the weather couldn’t be better. Cool (okay, maybe upper 20s as a high) and sunny with a nice breeze. The ground is damp but not wet. The garden is greening as I watch.

Frank is taking the opportunity to try propagating some grass. This buffalo grass is pretty easy to spread just by cutting up some of its runners. He’s done it before to good effect. I hope it works because our front yard was decimated by 2 months without rain but plenty of scorching sun. The good news is the weeds died too!

I tried planting more sunflower seeds from my harvest today (not based on the lunar calendar, based on me just wanting to). I have to say I’m not getting the bumper 2nd crop I’d been hoping for. This is my 2nd infill after the first planting. To be fair, the first planting was mid-baking drought. This time I didn’t plant any store bought seeds but scrapped a handful off of 2 different flower heads drying under the house. I’m hoping I’m able to actually grow my own seeds.

Whatever was eating in my ginger bed has extended his hunting ground. I’ve found holes in the sunflower bed near (but not eating) the horseradish (which hit a new growth spurt with the recent rains). The critter’s now digging like mad in the grass. I hope it’s eating some nasty grubs and not something nice like earth worms. But surely it wouldn’t need a hole the size of a small plastic water cup for an earth worm.

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Divine Weather

  1. karen says:

    Love the photo.

Leave a Reply

