Blueberries

blueberries
Blueberry bushes

Yesterday Frank planted 2 blueberry bushes (Blueberry Legacy) in front of that little bed I prepared a couple of weeks ago. It’s a very shady spot. The main problem I see is we’ll have to water them because the tree they’re under (variegated Japanese pittosporum) is very dense and though light may give the plants some direct sunshine in the afternoon, it takes persistent rain to get the soil wet here.

 
We already love them and Frank’s declared his intention to buy 3 more to encircle my shady bed.
About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blueberries

  1. karen says:

    Blueberries like shade? Oops. Mine are in sun and have not done much in the 12 months they’ve been in the ground. They’re very pretty little plants, however, with very healthy leaves… if that’s what you want from them.

  2. I’m not sure if blueberries like shade in NC but Sydney is a very marginal area for berries. If you think about their natural habitat it is forest floors with plenty of shade and cold winters. I can maybe mimic the shady forest floor but the cold winters is a bit tricky.

    As for what I want, as usual, I want it all. Beautiful green leaves and an incredible harvest of tasty berries.

Leave a Reply

