Winter Peas

peaspeasI planted this batch of peas on 12 April, about 15 weeks ago. Apparently you should harvest after 9-11 weeks. But I’m not complaining, they were forced to grow in a pretty shady spot through some cold days. They should be ready to start eating in the next few days. And boy are they lush and beautiful. (Note to self: give the peas more climbing room next time – they collapsed when they outgrew their meter high mesh which, thankfully, didn’t harm them in the slightest.)

My planting guide says peas can be planted from seeds between April and July which means I’m reaching the end of the season for them. I want to put another row in the ground in the sunflower bed which will probably be sunflower free in the next 2 weeks. That will mean early August might be when they go in but I’m hoping they’ll still be okay. The peas I planted last November started out well but then just couldn’t cope with the heat (neither could I). The sunflower bed gets a lot more sun that where the peas currently live so I expect they’ll reach maturity sooner and should be all done producing before the heat hits.

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

