Sauerkraut Salad

sauerkraut salad

Last night I made a sauerkraut salad to go with my fried chicken. The recipe is simple: rinse a couple handfuls of sauerkraut (rinse to get the right sour for your taste), grate a carrot, cut up one orange and sprinkle with brown sugar (again, based on your preference in the sweet-sour balance). Mix and enjoy. I did. It was really tasty and the mix of sour and sweet worked for me. I think a few raisins thrown in would be a nice addition.

It’s kind of cheating to put this recipe in my garden blog since the only ingredient that came out of my garden was the orange. But the carrots are growing and I certainly planted cabbages (sown on June 25) with sauerkraut and all its spin-offs in mind.

The best laid plans, eh? This is what one of my 2 remaining cabbage plants now looks like.

I fear the possum will have this all eaten long before I can harvest, much less turn it into sauerkraut.

The sole survivor sits next to the well-nibbled cabbage so what hope does it have?

The good news is the Brussels sprouts haven’t been bothered in a couple of days. Maybe the possum knows you need to change your target or risk killing the entire plant and going hungry in a few weeks.

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in Garden, Nature, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

