Baked Eggs & Spinach

With our chickens now laying, it’s time to think about trying something more ambitious than poached eggs.

Yesterday we made a meal that is destined to become one of our favourites, Creamy Baked Eggs & Spinach. It works for breakfast, lunch or even dinner. A perfect vegetarian dish that’s quick and simple to prepare. Here’s the recipe.

  • Heat in a pan until soft:

      – 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
      – 10 g butter
      – 1 green onion, leek or small onion chopped finely

  • Add 100 g of roughly chopped spinach to wilt then cook on high for 2 mins until all water evaporates
  • Season with salt, pepper and nutmeg
  • Divide spinach mixture between 2 ovenproof containers
  • Crack egg into each container
  • Mix together 1 Tbsp cream plus 1 tsp white wine vinegar and drizzle over each egg
  • Bake 15-20 mins in 180 degree (350 F) preheated oven

My eggs were small and I overcooked them. I like the yolks to run. The next time I’ll go for less cooking and more cream+vinegar (a nice tangy sauce to complement the eggs and bitterness of the spinach).

This recipe is very flexible and forgiving. I think it would also work with zucchini instead of spinach, a bit of garlic, some chilli, whatever tastes you fancy.

The eggs, onion and spinach all came from my garden. I couldn’t be happier with the output from my suburban back yard.

The egg/spinach bake was lunch. For dinner we used our last egg of the day in a Carbonara sauce to go with our pasta. (That was store-bought pasta, but since I use an egg when making fresh pasta, I suspect I’ll be making more of it in the future.)

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in Garden, Recipe and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baked Eggs & Spinach

  1. karensperspective says:

    This sounds fantastic. Not like something Jim would like, but I’m going to try it for myself.
    And, I must say, you have the most beautiful photos. What a successful gardener/farmer you are, and an amazing photographer as well!

  2. Yeah, I doubt Jim would like this either – you have to like greens. Which must affect how much joy he gets from your garden too.

    I feel like a huge success when I see the photos – they avoid all the dying and sad looking stuff. Which proves what a great photographer I really am 🙂

  3. I have no idea what this would taste like but it uses eggs and garden ingredients so im gonn agive it a try as soon as spinach comes up

Leave a Reply

