Mandarin and Poppy Seed Friand

It’s mandarin season and every day we collect more mandarins off our tree. They are great snacks just as they are, but they also go really well in salads and baked goods. Here’s my recipe for friands. It not only uses the mandarins from my garden, it also uses the almond meal I get when making almond milk and eggs from my chickens.

Mandarin and Poppy Seed Friand recipe

– Mix dry ingredients:

    • 1/2 c flour (75 g)
    • 1 teaspoon baking powder
    • 1 1/2 cup icing sugar (180 g)
    • 1 cup almond meal (100 g)


– Add, mixing between each ingredient:

  • zest of 1 mandarin (or orange)
  • 3 Tablespoons poppy seeds
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 100 g melted butter
  • 2 Tablespoons mandarin juice

– When thoroughly mixed, spoon into greased muffin (or friand) pan.

– Bake 15-20 minutes at 180 C until a toothpick can be inserted and comes out dry.

– Cool 5 minutes in pan and then remove friands to cooling rack to complete cooling.

These things are delicious. So much better (IMHO) than muffins. That’s probably because a) they use heaps of butter (I love French cooking!), b) they use icing sugar rather than plain or brown sugar (there’s no such thing as too sweet) and c) because they substitute 2/3 of the flour with almond meal. This makes the whole thing rich and wonderful. And probably means it will never get one of those heart ticks that the heart association gives to less decadent treats 🙂

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in Garden, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mandarin and Poppy Seed Friand

  1. ambrasancin says:

    These sound great. I’ve just picked the last of my mandarins from the backyard tree, so this is just perfect for a baking day tomorrow. And very happy with my three batches of mandarin marmalade, nasty stinkbugs aside! I’ve documented my adventures on my blogpost “The Revenge of the Mandarin Stinkbugs…”

  2. Pingback: Saving Oragnes | Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

  3. Pingback: Carrot Cake Recipe | Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Leave a Reply

