Meringue vs Macaroon

Coconut Macaroons

I love meringues. Frank, not so much. Frank loves macaroons. Me, not as much as meringues, but pretty much. And they are a great way to use up all those eggs my chickens deliver every day.

I decided to try both so I could compare the way you make them and how wonderful they are to eat. Both are dead easy to make. Both these recipes can be cut in half (using only 1 egg) or doubled (if you have a family of gluttons).

Meringue recipe (the same as my pavlova recipe – just for individual drops):

1) Whisk 2 egg whites until stiff peaks form.

2) Slowly add 1/2 cup sugar (1/4 cup of sugar for each egg white) while continuing to whisk.

3) When firm peaks form, add 1/2 tsp vinegar or lemon juice and 1/2 tsp corn starch.

4) Spoon onto baking tray lined with baking paper. (Makes about 20 small meringues.)

5) Bake at 150 C for about 15 minutes (until just starting to brown).

6) Let stand for 5 minutes before removing from baking tray (to allow them to more easily separate from the baking paper).

My Coconut or Almond Macaroon recipe is:

1) Whisk 2 egg whites and 1/2 tsp salt until frothy (not really forming peaks).

2) Slowly add 2/3 cup sugar while continuing to whisk .

3) Whisk for about 2 minutes until thick and glossy (not quite taffy-like, but with a fair bit of structure to it).

4) Fold in 1 cup desiccated coconut or almond meal (I dried my home-made almond meal on a baking tray in the sun to make sure it was really dry).

5) Spoon on to baking tray lined with baking paper. (Makes about 2 dozen macaroons.)

6) Bake at 180 C for 10 minutes (until just beginning to turn golden).

7) Let stand for 5 minutes before removing from baking tray (to allow them to more easily separate from the baking paper).

As I said, both are dead easy to make and both are heaven to eat. Thank you Isabel, Bronwyn and Rosie.

Almond Macaroons

Worried about what to do with the leftover egg yolks? Well, if you don’t want to add them to your next omelette or quiche, there’s always a chocolate mousse. After all, you’ve already taken the sugar out of the cupboard 🙂

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Meringue vs Macaroon

  1. its so funny that we were both having a meringue moment! one blogger gave me the idea of making lemon curd to use yolks up and go with, nice idea huh! x

  2. Coop Poop says:

    I can do the macaroon recipe because I have egg whites, salt, and sugar. Will organic dried coconut (flakes?) do? I don’t know if it is dessicated or not. Hazelnut macaroons sound good too!

    • I’m sure the dried coconut flakes will work. You might want to blend them to get them finer if they turn out too chunky but any nutty,dry goodies will work. I think it’s like asking if a particular vegetable will work in a quiche – everything works in a quiche. Eggs are fantastic that way.

Leave a Reply

