Honey Money

We aren’t exactly getting rich off our honey, but we are selling some already.

On Fridays there’s a farmer who sells produce at a local street market. We took up a few jars and Chris was happy to set them out. He sold 2 in the first half-day.

On Saturdays there’s an organic market at the end of our street. Guy was willing to set out a few jars of our honey but warned us not to expect much. He proceeded to sell the 6 that we dropped off then he asked us to bring another 6 next week. And he said our honey was yummy. Of course it is, we have sweet bees!

Market people are really great and I’m happy to see there are many people who want to buy and support local products.

We’re giving away jars to everyone we know and they’re all offering to spread the word. One neighbour put in the effort to come over and tell us ours is the best honey he’s ever tasted. He’s got good taste 🙂

I have no idea how many jars we’ll end up selling. We do have the option to sell in bulk to our beekeeping club, but they offer a pretty low price since selling jars of honey is their way of making money. For now I’m happy to sit on my 40 kilos and watch it drizzle away while I get a sense of how much I’ll use, how much my friends will use, how much will sell at the local markets and if word of mouth sales will get me any customers.

Honey jars ready for sale

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in bees and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Honey Money

  1. Good luck and I love your cute logo.

    • Thanks & thanks. Marketing is not my thing but I needed some sort of label so created a logo. It was feedback from the first market guy that had us adding our suburb name. He said people bought our honey when he told them it came from down the road. We thought we might as well make it obvious by putting it right on the jar.

  2. Glenn Rittenhouse says:

    Love the logo and I hope you get rich 🙂

  3. Here in the UK there are strict regulations about labelling honey. I would suggest you check it out to see if it is the same in Australia. Here you must put the weight, name and address of supplier, country of origin to name but a few. worth checking out as you wouldn’t want to be caught out.

    • Thanks for the advice. I have actually called the relevant agencies here. There’s a difference between casual backyard small production and what is required for major producers who sell through shops so I’m okay.

    • Actually, thinking about it, our label covers the list you’ve given. We hand write in the weight and date of packing on the labels as we fill each jar. Our email address is good enough for supplier name & address, the state and post code covers country of origin so maybe the laws aren’t that different between the UK and here.

  4. Oh I love your labels – wish I could pop over for a taste – I bet it is tasty!

  5. cohutt says:

    You are convincing me to go down the beekeeping road. Slowly.

    • It’s funny – after the frenzy of buying the hives and harvesting that first batch of honey, now the bees take absolutely no effort. I guess we need to open them up about once a week to check the beetle traps, but they just fly in and out collecting pollen and nectar without any attention. So I don’t really feel like a beekeeper. I feel more like a bee observer. A pretty easy job with fantastic pay (assuming you love honey).

      All of which means I can’t think of a single reason to discourage anyone from beekeeping.

      • cohutt says:

        I’ve spent the last hour reading more on it. Seems fairly straightforward once you have the general idea

        • So far it is and my reading tells me the same thing yours does. And the fact that the guy I bought my hives from had 10 that he totally ignored (which is why his wife made him sell them) yet they still thrived gives me hope we’re right.

          I think it is a very different situation in areas where the climate is more problematic and the bees hibernate (or at least stop being active) over winter. Not sure how long that would be in Georgia, in Sydney it is never. And, of course, varroa mite adds a layer of complication pretty much everywhere except for Australia. But still, bees take so much less care and attention than vegetables I’m guessing if you can grow broccoli, you can raise bees.

  6. Coop Poop says:

    Adorable labels and you two are quite the entrepreneurs…just yesterday you were setting up the bee frames!

Leave a Reply

