Sandtaler

Sandtalers

Sandtalers

I recently made my scrumptuous almond shortbread and Frank commented that it was similar in taste (not form) to his mother’s sandtaler. I’d never heard of such a thing so made him explain it.  Frank’s basic direction was to shape the dough into a log, roll it in sugar and slice the cookies before baking. Simple enough, why not?

Oh My God, it’s sooooo good. Better than almond shortbread. Better than almost any sweet biscuit ever made, EVER.

Though I’m not following any official sandtaler recipe, I’m calling it sandtaler anyway. So here’s Laura’s Sandtaler Recipe:

IMG_0879IMG_0882IMG_0914IMG_0916

1) Cream

  • 220 grams of room temperature butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract.

2) Add

  • 2/3 cup Almond Meal
  • 1 1/3 cup flour
  • 4 Tablespoons cornstarch
  • a dash of salt.

3) Mix well but don’t overwork.

4) Roll dough into a log, wrap in cling film and refrigerate until firm (a couple hours is plenty).

5) Remove dough from fridge, roll in sugar and slice into 1 cm thick disks.

6) Put disks (I ended up with 24) on baking trays lined with wax paper.

7) Bake at 150 C (300 F) for 45-55 minutes, until just about to start browning.

8) Cool for 5 minutes then place biscuits on a cooling rack until totally cool.

9) Store in an airtight container.

I have to say, my mother-in-law is really on to something, they are even better (which I didn’t think was possible) than my almond shortbread.

For the record, a taler is an old German coin. The disk form of these cookies obviously reminded someone of money.

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sandtaler

  1. shadowlilies says:

    I can almost taste these just looking at them. My mother used to make them. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Can’t wait to make them myself. Yum!.

    • I’ve made them several times and have had no failures – that’s a big deal for me as I’m prone to a few flops now and then. I think this recipe is just about impossible to ruin. Good luck with it and enjoy!

  2. I love slice and bake cookies! They remind me of my childhood where my next door neighbor would let me help her bake her pinwheel cookies. I was only allowed to arrange them on the baking sheet — I was too little to be around the knife or stove! — but they were special because I could help. Yours look so rich and delicious!

  3. I wonder if I could convert the recipe to gluten-free. Sounds so good I might have to try it when things calm a bit.

    • If you do, let me know. My neighbour is gluten-free and I have no idea how to make anything she can eat. When we get together it’s always store-bought crackers and cheese. With all my almond meal I’m sure I should be able to make something gluten free but I think I’d need to buy some other flour substitute to get the texture right. Really, I’m clueless but interested.

  4. Linda says:

    Looks delicious! I might have to buy/make some almond meal to give these a try…yum!

    • I don’t know about where you are but here, almond meal is really expensive. It’s so easy to make (mine is definitely coarser than store-bought, but it is perfect for baking) and you get almond milk in the bargain. I recommend trying to make it just once, you’ll never go back.

Leave a Reply

