Dad’s Banana Bread – sort of

IMG_3937

My dad makes a yummy banana bread and I’ve followed his hastily jotted-down recipe faithfully for years. But since my garden and kitchen habits have changed, it was time to reboot the recipe. Hopefully without losing any of the yumminess.

The changes I decided to make were ones I’m now making to pretty much all my baked goods: I substitute my yogurt for any sour cream, my pecan meal for part of the flour and my honey for part of the sugar. I’m also using eggs from my chooks, bananas from my Chatswood banana plants (3 plants moved to the farm so hopefully they’ll produce more in the not-too-distant future), lemon juice from a lemon from my Chatswood tree (no lemons on the farm, that will change once we buy trees for our future fruit-grove) and pecans from the farm orchard. I’m not even close to self-sufficient, but it sure is fun to remove items from my grocery list.

This is just about the end of my Chatswood produce. We moved away a month ago and brought a few hands of bananas, bunches of lemons and mandarins and lots of plants with us. So this is probably my last “fusion” recipe – suburbia meets farm – and it’s a good one.

Here’s my Dad-and-then-some Banana Bread recipe:

IMG_3882 IMG_3884 IMG_3888Mix:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 large or 4 small very ripe bananas (I squish these between my fingers if they aren’t over-ripe)
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon yogurt

Then add:

  • 1/2 cup pecan meal
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • You can add chopped nuts if you want (for obvious reasons I used pecans)

Put the batter (thicker than cake dough, thinner than bread dough) into a lined or greased bread pan.

Bake at 170 C (350 F) for 50-70 minutes or until the bread turns brown and a skewer inserted in the centre, comes out dry.

The end result is yummy and, if you happen to have any left over, is great toasted and smeared with butter.

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in Recipe, Sustainability and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dad’s Banana Bread – sort of

  1. Glenn Rittenhouse says:

    It has been a long time since I have made banana bread. I will have to buy some extra bananas next time we go to the store so I will have enough ripe ones left over for bread. Happy to see you enjoying the farm.

  2. Mmmm. Now I’m hungry. I like the way you adapt a recipe. I was wondering if I could whip this up straight away with what I have in store, maybe allowing one or two adjustments – but without bananas or nuts in stock, it will have to wait.

  3. Delicious recipe, I can’t wait to try.

Leave a Reply

