Birdbath

As I continue to make my way through the garden beds on the farm, I keep uncovering all kinds of cool things. For example, a bird bath. Seriously, you couldn’t see this thing before I cut back some flowering ginger from a front bed. Most of the ginger is staying so the birdbath really needed to find a new home. Thanks to my aggressive cleaning of this lavender/wandering jew bed, there was lots of space available here, just perfect for a birdbath.

Adler enjoying the birdbath

Adler enjoying the birdbath

No, Adler, I said BIRD bath!

Anyway, he didn’t stick around for long and the birds have made this space their own. It’s a space for flying, splashing and lovin’.

Acrobatic bathing

Acrobatic bathing

Courtship by the pool; a grey fantail and a rufous fantail?

Courtship by the pool; a grey fantail and a rufous fantail?

Or just hangin’ out with your friends. Birds of a feather and all that…

Red-browed Firetail

Red-browed Firetails

Yellow finches (of some unknown variety)

Yellow finches or wrens or something like that (of some unknown variety)

Within 1 hour of installing the birdbath in its new location and filling it with water, birds were creating gridlock in the nearby trees, waiting for their turn for a dip.  The resulting inter-species bathing was fun to watch. Look at the water-drip on this bulbul’s beak. He didn’t even pause when the fantail arrived to share his bath.

Red-whiskered Bulbul with a Grey Fantail

Red-whiskered Bulbul with a Grey Fantail

This Willy Wagtail was wagging and singing his heart out, clearly in the mood for love. Poor thing, the only chick he managed to lure to his rock was a red-browed firetail.

Willy Wagtail singing a song of love

Willy Wagtail singing a song of love

This water is without a doubt much better than the river or the pond. Who wants dirty old natural water when you can get something from the tap, provided by Sydney Water? The local birds clearly don’t.

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in cat, Garden, Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Birdbath

  1. Karen Rittenhouse says:

    I absolutely loved sitting on the screened porch in our last house watching the birds bathe and play in the birdbath. And, just like in yours, different species shared the space – not looking like they enjoyed each other, but preferring to share rather than to leave.

    On my last trip to Wisconsin, I bought one for the kids and placed it right outside their living room window. Same response from the birds. I added a bird feeder right beside the bath and their spot is now the place in the neighborhood for all the birds to hang out. Glenn and Pooja’s cats sit in the window quite happily entertained (though would be even happier, no doubt, if someone would open that blasted window).

    Love your photos.

  2. That is great! We would really like to set up a bird bath someday. But I worry that it will just be luring the birds to their death because of the barn cats.

    • You’re supposed to put the birdbath near a tree or bushy shrub to offer it protection from cats and hawks and things. We have a rose bush right next to ours which should provide some protection soon. That said, I don’t know that the birds are more at risk when taking a bath than when eating grass seeds. It’s a tough world out there and I’m hoping evolution will encourage the clever to survive! If only we could train cats to eat rats and leave birds alone.

  3. vuchickens says:

    Beautiful photos! How fun for the birds, and how fun for you to get to watch them! Will Adler try to catch them, do you think?

    • Well, Adler does sit under the birdbath sometimes – those are the times when no birds are around. I actually think the bath makes them a bit safer because he has to work to get up on it and they see him and fly away in time.

      That said… 2 days ago I looked out and saw Adler with one of those little yellow birds in his mouth. I screamed and ran out – Frank hot on my heels. We got the bird and cat to separate and I carried Adler in the house. The bird sort of fluttered away. We saw no blood but I’ve no idea if the little thing survived. I haven’t seen a dead bird but with foxes roaming the property, that doesn’t mean anything. Of course this happened no where near the birdbath so I don’t think that’s having an impact.

      This is why I didn’t want a cat. It upsets me to think he’s getting any birds at all but I’m sure he is. There’s a feral cat that visits the property sometimes and foxes and so I know there are predators out there that the birds have to deal with, I just feel awful that I’m adding to that load with Adler. But how could I have had him put down when he showed up in my back yard?

      All I can do is make Adler wear 2 bells around his neck, lock him up at night, feed him well and chase him when I see him going for a bird. Mother Nature will have to do the rest.

  4. GREAT PHOTOS, AND WHAT A VARIETY OF BIRDS!!

  5. Great post. I’ve got more than one bird bath but I don’t get the variety of birds you do. We don’t have such colourful ones as you have either.

  6. Love the community hotspot photos. They are really fun and amusing.

  7. Wow Laura I am amazed at the variety of birds you have – how lovely.

  8. What a great post, thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

