Corn Fritter Recipe

Corn Fritters

Corn Fritters

All of my sweet corn ripened at once (like always happens in the garden). This was my first year harvesting sweet corn and I wasn’t sure what to do with all that corn besides boiling it and eating it. Not that I’m complaining, that corn was so much sweeter and more tender than any store-bought (or even farm-gate-bought) corn.

Until it got old. Then it was tough, chewy and stuck to my teeth (though still sweet). I gave a bit (very little – I’m too greedy) to my chickens and they LOVED it (well, Bronwyn was ambivalent) so I knew that if I couldn’t come up with a use, the corn wouldn’t be totally wasted.

Then I thought about corn fritters. I figured they might be the answer so I pulled out a couple of old cook books and, sure enough, both had recipes for corn fritters and both proclaimed this as a good use for old, tough corn. Kind of spooky when that happens.

IMG_1137IMG_1144IMG_1148-001So, here’s the recipe for some good corn fritters which can use up some tough sweet corn:

1) Grate 2 1/2 cups of corn kernels from husks (or chop up kernels).

2) Add 1 well-beaten egg yolk.

3) Add 2 teaspoons of flour

4) Add herbs/spices to taste (chilli, paprika, pepper, oregano, LOTS of salt, anything goes).

5) Whip 1 egg white until stiff but not dry and fold into corn mixture.

6) Mix well and press into small patties.

7) Fry in oil until browned on both sides.

The next time I make them I’m grating in some onions & garlic as well. I liked the taste and texture but they were a tad bland and I think they could be improved. It will be a bit of a wait to try any corn recipe again because my last crop is well and truly gone but luckily my new corn crop is shooting so I’ll have another harvest before winter.

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Corn Fritter Recipe

  1. wow, that looks amazing I am licking my lips! xxx

  2. Emily Heath says:

    Yum. I like to add spring onions to mine. Also I make courgette fritters with feta cheese and sometimes chopped up fresh chillies.

  3. MMM those look good – that looks suspiciously like The joy of cooking…. it is amazing how many recipes are in that book!

    • Well spotted – it is from the Joy of Cooking. I also have another ancient and useful cook book called The Settlement Cookbook. It’s much the same as JoC except even more use of basic ingredients. It’s fritter recipe was practically identical so I knew I was on to a winner.

Leave a Reply

