Dogs are Disgusting

I adore Rusty. He’s so loving and sweet and cute as a button.

He knows how to have a good time – he loves toys!

Tennis ball, T + 6 minutes

Tennis ball, T + 6 minutes

He’s bright enough to find the softest seat in the house.

Comfy chair

Comfy chair

He knows how to enjoy the simple things in life.

Delight

Delight

 

But (why is there ALWAYS a but?), he has rotten taste. I mean that literally. He likes the taste of rotten things.

A friend recently took her dog to a vet who sent her home with a couple of rabbit carcases and heads. She was game to feed her dog the carcass but the head was a bridge too far. She dropped the heads off at my place thinking Adler, my cat, might like them. Of course cats don’t eat dead bits left lying about, if they did, we wouldn’t have a feral cat problem in Australia because they’d be regularly poisoned (like those dumb foxes).

I don't think so!

I don’t think so!

Rusty had no such qualms. The first head was keenly received and sniffed and licked and inspected and carried around and vanished. Yes, he vanished it. The second head was “vanished” much more quickly. I was sure they were both eaten and that would be the end of those furry and, quite frankly, scary looking heads.

Ha. Six days (that’s right, 6) later, I saw Rusty digging something up in the back garden. It had ears!!!!!!! Shortly later it was again “vanished”. On the 7th day, ears appeared again out of no where. They are currently vanished where I honestly hope they stay.

I think I saw a bunny rabbit

I think I saw a bunny rabbit

Of course, he wanted to come and give me a good lick after this great fun had ended. Yeek.

Before anyone feels obliged to tell me, I do know that dogs bury their meat for a good reason. A nice bit of bacteria grows on it that is good for the dogs digestion. But I can tell you, it isn’t good for the dogs adorability factor!

About Laura Rittenhouse

I'm an American-Australian author, gardener and traveller. Go to my writing website: www.laurarittenhouse.com for more. If you're trying to find my gardening blog, it's here.
This entry was posted in dog and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dogs are Disgusting

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl says:

    OMG! You crack me up. Great read!
    Dogs are gross, got me two of them.
    Believe me, I know gross…

  2. Emily Heath says:

    Very entertaining! I hadn’t known about dogs burying their meat, so I learned something too.

  3. Oooh boy yeah they can be so disgusting! Good thing they’re also so cute and bright and can show us humans a thing or two about enjoyment, eh?
    😀
    (I love the cat. Gorgeous, and such a sweet face with the white round his mouth.)

    • He is cute and always happy – unless I stop him from having fun like preventing him from chasing my chickens or jumping up to bash me with his muddy feet – humans are real kill joys.

      Adler, the cat, is a handsome devil and doesn’t he just know it. He will often grace me with his presences – he follows me in the garden meowing and sleeps at the end of the bed – but if I try to pet him, he turns his tail and leaves the room. Maybe he’s afraid I’ll mess up his perfect hair do???

  4. Pingback: Where did that come from? | Laura Rittenhouse's Gardening Journal

Leave a comment